Top 04_15_14



Search our site by keyword:




Side 04_14_14
County Relocation Information   Minimize

Click on County for detailed information.

Bartow County Paulding County Cherokee County Cobb County Dawson County Lumpkin County Forsyth County

Counties at a Glance

County

Co. Seat

Co. Population

Millage Rates
(uninc.)

Median
Home price

Bartow

Cartersville

100,661

9.68

$137,600

Carroll

Carrollton

111,954

8.50

$105,000

Cherokee

Canton

221,315

5.825

$194,400

Clayton

Jonesboro

265,888

14.912

$111,200

Cobb

Marietta

707,442

7.52

$203,000

Coweta

Newnan

118,936

7.15

$156,959

Dawson

Dawsonville

21,484

8.14

$171,400

DeKalb

Decatur

707,089

18.79

$178,000

Douglas

Douglasville

133,971

9.9

$146,900

Fayette

Fayetteville

107,524

5.645

$239,500

Forsyth

Cumming

187,928

4.81

$265,900

Fulton

Atlanta

977,773

10.281

$246,200

Gilmer
Ellijay
28,579
7.1
$148,500

Gwinnett

Lawrenceville

842,046

11.78

$180,700

Hall

Gainesville

185,416

6.25

$169,400

Henry

McDonough

209,053

14.5

$158,900

Lumpkin

Dahlonega

26,554

6.91

$145,250

Paulding

Dallas

144,800

8.29

$147,700

Rockdale

Conyers

85,820

16.91

$156,200

Walton Monroe 85,754
12.4
$160,000

Millage Rates for Atlanta Metro Areas (Uninc.)
To find your estimated county property tax, multiply the millage rate for your county by the taxable assessed value of your home (in Georgia, the taxable value is 40% of the assessed value minus other exemptions).

Driving in Georgia

License Tag
Georgia tags must be purchased within 30 days after establishing residency. You need the following information with you:

(A GA drivers license is highly recommended before attempting to register vehicle.)

  1. Title of car, name and address of lienholder, or copy of lease agreement;
  2. Current tag registration;
  3. Mileage reading of vehicle;
  4. Valid insurance card. Liability coverage insurance is required by Georgia law and an insurance identification card must be in your possession when you drive.
  5. Certificate of inspection
  6. Proof of emissions test


$18 title fee plus $20 registration fee

Emissions
Model years 1984-2005 require emission. Cars 25 years and older and 3 most recent model years are exempt. The tests are administered for a charge of between $10 and $25 at a number of certified testing centers—most locations that can perform the test advertise the service. You do not need to have your vehicle tested in the county in which it is registered. For a list of testing stations, check with the Clean Air Force, cleanairforce.com, a division of the Georgia Environmental Protection Division.

Driver’s License
One of the first things you’ll need to do once you’ve moved to the Atlanta area is get a driver’s license. We’ve done the research so you can begin getting the correct documents together, as you are required to transfer your license within 30 days after your move. Don’t forget $20-$35 in cash to cover the fee. Check the county profiles on the following pages for addresses and telephone numbers of the license bureaus. Here’s what you need according to the Georgia Department of Public Safety:

To transfer a valid license from another state of the United States or District of Columbia, you must present:

  1. Your valid license.
  2. One document from “Category A” and one from “Category C” (listed below).
  3. Pass an eye-test.


Persons under 18 or non-U.S. citizens attempting to transfer a valid license have other requirements, as do those persons with lost or stolen out-of-state licenses and those who do not have an out-of-state license. These requirements can be found online at ga.dmv.org.

Category A:

  • Birth Certificate (state issued) or certified copy of birth certificate with raised or imprinted seal*
  • Certified birth registration*
  • Certified copy of court records (adoption, name or sex change)
  • Certified naturalization documentation
  • Immigration ID card
  • Valid passport
  • Non U.S. citizens—Valid passport with valid I-94 card
  • Valid resident alien card (INS I-51 or I-551)
  • Valid employment authorization card (INS I-688 or I-688A)


* If your name is different than what is on your birth certificate and/or registration, you must provide one item from Name Change listing (below)

Category C:

  • Lease or housing contract
  • Rent receipt containing name of company or landlord, signature of representative and applicant’s name and address
  • Utility bill w/in last 60 days
  • Monthly bank statement
  • Employer verification on their letterhead (stating address)
  • Georgia license issued to parent, guardian or spouse

 

 Print    
Current Issue



Help us make sure you're not a robot. Enter the characters you see

Ed Guide banner

PHP, Mysql, Domain-addon web hosting servers with powerful cpanels