Atlanta’s Fortune 500 and 1000 Companies

Atlanta’s Fortune 500 and 1000 Companies

Home to nearly 6 million people and more than 150,000 businesses, metro Atlanta continues to be an attractive place for Fortune 500 and 1000 companies because of the region’s low cost of doing business, ease of travel around the world through Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, the thriving innovative ecosystem, a business-friendly environment and its reputation as a logistics hub, says Gregg Simon, vice president of economic development at the Metro Atlanta Chamber. “We offer a steady talent pipeline through our graduates coming out of the region’s 66 colleges and universities,” he continues. “Atlanta’s economy has been fueled by a decades-long influx of population from around the world, offering a talent pipeline for all of our employers.”

One such Fortune 500 company benefiting from the area’s offerings is The Coca-Cola Company. On May 8, 1886, Dr. John S. Pemberton, the inventor of Coca-Cola, served the beverage for the first time at Jacobs’ Pharmacy in Downtown Atlanta. Nearly 130 years later, The Coca-Cola Company remains headquartered just over 1 mile from where the iconic beverage was first enjoyed. Now, The Coca-Cola Company offers more than 3,600 products in more than 200 countries around the world with 1.9 billion servings of its products enjoyed every day. Globally, The Coca-Cola Company, along with it global bottling partners, employs more than 700,000 people, ranking it among the world’s top 10 private employers. More than 9,000 people are employed by the Coca-Cola system in Georgia, most of whom are based in metro Atlanta.

With Atlanta’s highly skilled and abundant workforce, the area has been a perfect place for Home Depot to thrive. “Atlanta is one of the country’s top cities in which to do business,” states a representative from the company. “It has great entrepreneurial opportunities, great career options and plenty of access to excellent education. Plus, it’s constantly growing.”

Below, see the latest Fortune 500 and 1000 rankings for these Atlanta and Georgia-headquartered companies.

Atlanta Fortune 500 Companies

26. The Home Depot homedepot.com
43. United Parcel Service (UPS) ups.com
68. Delta Air Lines Inc. delta.com
88. The Coca-Cola Company coca-colacompany.com
146. Aflac, Inc. aflac.com
153. The Southern Company southerncompany.com
171. Genuine Parts Company genpt.com
177. WestRock westrock.com
309. Pulte Group Inc. pultegroupinc.com
316. Newell Brands newellbrands.com
321. Mohawk Industries mohawkind.com
350. AGCO Corporation agcocorp.com
412. Veritiv veritivcorp.com
428. Asbury Automotive Group, Inc.  asburyauto.com
439. NCR Corporation ncr.com
459. Intercontinental Exchange (ICE) intercontinentalexchange.com
477. Graphic Packaging International, Inc. graphicpkg.com
478. HD Supply Holdings hdsupply.com
SOURCE: FORTUNE  May 2020

 

Atlanta Fortune 1000 Companies

553. Global Payments Inc. globalpaymentsinc.com
631. Flower Foods flowerfoods.com
 649. Aaron's Inc. aarons.com
671.  Acuity Brands Inc. accuitybrands.com
689. Carter's Inc. carters.com
692. Equifax Inc. equifax.com
758. Gypsum Management & Supply, Inc. (GMS) gms.com
849. FleetCor fleetcor.com
852. BlueLinx bluelinxco.com
890. Synovus Financial synovus.com
904. Site One Landscape siteone.com
962. Gray Television gray.tv
965. Beazer Homes beazer.com
980. Primerica primerica.com
983. Floor & Decor flooranddecor.com
993. Rollins Inc. rollins.com

Read more about Atlanta companies:

Getting a Job in the ATL